portrait experiment

As I’ve run out of suitable fabrics to make a fabric portrait, I’ve been experimenting again and made two portraits, using a photo of a painting by Frans Hals and one of a lovely painting with a little girl in blue by Verspronck. I usually don’t like experimenting with portraits that I’ve made. As it’s a lot of work to make them, I don’t want to risk spoiling them. But this time, because of the fabrics I used, the portraits weren’t much good anyway, so it was fun to be able to play with them, it wouldn’t matter if I spoiled them.

portret van een meisje in het blauw johannes Cornelisz. Verspronck 1641

I started with the portrait of the little girl and used a piece of fabric with a ‘pebble’ print. To make this fabric in the portrait less ‘busy’, I machine stitched all over it with gray/blue thread and to make the lightest fabric less light, I added stitching with a darker tone.

Omdat ik door mijn voorraad stofjes heen ben, die geschikt zijn voor een stofjesportret, ben ik wat gaan experimenteren. Ik maakte twee portretten van foto’s van een een schilderij van Frans Hals en een schilderij van een meisje door Verspronck. Normaalgesproken experimenteer ik niet graag met portretten die ik heb gemaakt. Het is zo veel werk om ze te maken en dan wil ik niet het risico lopen dat ik ze verpest. Maar dit keer waren de portretten toch al niet goed, door de stofjes die ik had gebruikt, en maakte het niet uit of ik ze zou verpesten.

Eerst maakte ik een portretje van het meisje en gebruikte daarvoor onder andere een lapje met allemaal kleine ‘kiezeltjes’. Om dit stofje in het portretje minder ‘druk’ te maken heb ik er met grijs/blauw garen overheen gestikt. Om het lichtste stofje in het portret minder licht te maken heb ik een donkerder tint garen gebruikt om er over heen te stikken.

IMGP0001

portretje meisje blauwe

I then made the portrait of the woman. Again the fabric choice wasn’t important as I was going to quickly and not too precise, machine stitch all over it. I wanted to see what would happen if I used a completely different colour of thread. Although the stitching isn’t even all that dense, adding this layer on top of the fabric makes a huge difference in colour as you can see on the photos, very surprising! What I also like with this technique is the lovely texture I get in the portrait.

To further experiment I could see how I can change the portrait by painting it with diluted acrylic paint.

Daarna maakte ik een portret van de vrouw. De stofkeuze was weer niet belangrijk, omdat ik er toch, snel en niet al te precies, over heen wilde gaan stikken met de machine. Ik wilde zien wat er zou gebeuren als ik een compleet andere kleur garen gebruikte. Hoewel het portret helemaal niet erg vol is gestikt, heeft deze extra laag, zoals je aan de foto’s kunt zien, toch een groot effect op de kleur, heel verrassend! Ik vind ook de textuur die ik op deze manier in het portret krijg, heel mooi.

Ik zou nog meer kunnen experimenteren en kijken hoe ik het portret kan veranderen door het te verven met  verdunde acrylverf.

So now back to my course work for Distant Stitch and there’s just one more lesson to go for Quilten Speciaal, but it isn’t until the end of January. So plenty of time to do the homework assignment.

En nu maar weer verder gaan met mijn werk voor Distant Stitch. Voor Quilten Speciaal zijn we al weer toe aan de laatste les, maar pas eind januari, dus voor het huiswerk heb ik nog tijd genoeg.

Explore posts in the same categories: fabric portrait

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “portrait experiment”

  1. nadia Says:

    Hi, Meta. Glad I found time to stop by–your portrait series is so beautiful and the effects you’re getting with the prints are really interesting. I also liked your red box several posts back. Wishing you a happy holiday season!
    best, nadia

  2. Amy Vetter Says:

    your fabric choices are so unusual, in a very good way, keep up the experiments, your work is wonderful

  3. Rosemary Says:

    What a wonderful portrait!


  4. FABULOUS! I had no idea that you did this!

  5. hennievb Says:

    Wat een groot verschil! Net als Els zou ik wel graag een detail van het stiksel willen zien.

  6. Mary Stori Says:

    You are totally blowing my mind with these portraits and I for one am happy you are experimenting….what inspiration!!

  7. els mommers Says:

    Ongelooflijk wat een verschil het stiksel in een andere kleur maakt.Wel dapper dat je zo durft te experimenteren op een portret waar je zoveel werk aan hebt gehad. Ook mij spreekt de onderste het meest aan. Het zou trouwens interessant zijn om een detail van je stiksel te zien. Knap werk hoor!

    • meta Says:

      Ja, ik vond het ook zo opvallend. De portretten waren om te experimenteren, dus ik kon er mee doen wat ik wilde. Het stiksel is niet zo interessant, hoor, een beetje rommelig, maar het ging om het effect dat het zou geven.

  8. hannie Says:

    Je bent aardig bezig met experimenteren! Ik moet zeggen, dat het onderste portret van de vrouw me het meeste aanspreekt. Het stofgebruik speelt wel degelijk een grote rol! Knap dat je ze maakt, het is een heel werk!


  9. They both look great. And what a difference.


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

