‘the milkmaid’

I enjoy the challenge of making a fabric portrait, using a photo of a painting by one of the old masters. It’s so fascinating to be working with a face from so long ago and to see how it’s still so alive.

I usually make my portraits no larger than A4, as that’s the size of my printer. This time, like with my Rembrandt portraits, I made a larger one, it’s 36×40 cm. I enlarged my pattern with Blockposter and printed it in four parts, which I then glued together. This works well.

For this portrait I made a pattern with part of a photo of ‘The Milkmaid’ by Vermeer, taking some ‘artistic licence’ here and there in order to get a usable pattern. My stash of commercial fabrics isn’t very large, but I made do with what I had. But I think the brown isn’t a bad choice.

Ik vind het een leuke uitdaging een portret te maken aan de hand van een foto van een schilderij van een van de oude meesters. Het is zo fascinerend om met een gezicht van zo lang geleden bezig te zijn en te merken dat het nog zo ‘leeft’.¬†

Meestal maak ik mijn portretjes niet groter dan A4 omdat mijn printer niet groter kan afdrukken. Deze keer heb ik, net als mijn Rembrandt portretten, weer een groter portret gemaakt, het is 36×40 cm. Het patroon heb ik uitvergroot met Blockposter en het vervolgens in vier delen afgedrukt. Die heb ik aan elkaar geplakt en dat werkt goed.

Voor dit portret heb ik een patroon gemaakt van een gedeelte van een foto van Vermeer’s ‘Melkmeisje’, met een beetje ‘artistieke vrijheid’ om een bruikbaar patroon te krijgen. Ik heb niet zo’n grote voorraad gekochte stofjes en had dus ook maar een beperkt aantal kleuren om uit te kiezen. Maar ik vind dit bruin best wel mooi.


Having put the portrait into fabric, I noticed that there is a light patch on the left side of the girl’s chin. This makes me wonder where the light comes from. When the only light comes from the window, I would think that the side of the face near the window would be brighter and I cannot explain the light patch on the other side. In fact, the entire face of the girl is a little blotched, something I hadn’t really noticed so much before. It would be interesting to find out why this is. Is it just discoloration of the paint or did the girl have a sort of eczema or other skin condition in her face? Should I have taken more artistic licence and have darkened this light patch in the face or not?

I’m not sure what to think of this fabric portrait, but it was fun to make and I’m going to try some other ‘old master’s portrait’ at some time.

Wat me opvalt aan het stofjesportret is dat er een lichte vlek zit op de linkerkant van het gezicht. Als het enige licht in het schilderij van het raam komt, lijkt mij dat de kant van het gezicht¬† bij het raam lichter zou zijn en kan ik niet verklaren waarom er juist aan de andere kant een lichte plek zit. Het meisje’s gezicht is helemaal wat vlekkerig, dat is me eerder eigenlijk nog niet zo erg opgevallen. Interessant om me daar eens in te verdiepen, waarom dat is. Is het gewoon verkleuring van de verf of had het meisje een soort eczeem of pigmentvlekken op haar gezicht? Had ik wat meer artistieke vrijheid moeten gebruiken en de lichte vlek in het gezicht donker moeten maken of juist niet?

Ik weet niet helemaal wat ik van dit stofjesportret vind, maar het was wel leuk te proberen en ik ga zeker nog eens een ander ‘oude meester’s portret’ proberen te maken.

(linked to Off the Wall Friday)

Explore posts in the same categories: fabric portrait, old masters, Vermeer's 'Milkmaid'

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

27 Comments on “‘the milkmaid’”


  1. Very nice fabric choices. You have a wonderful series going here Meta!

  2. uthamz Says:

    Love this !

    utham

  3. Nienke Smit Says:

    Wat bijzonder Meta om de oude meester portretten in stof vertaald een modern jasje te zien krijgen, wat je zegt, tijdloos mooi en toch heel eigen.


  4. I love Rembrandt’s portraits and you have captured this one wonderfully.


  5. Very nice work. I think a fabric portrait is one of the hardest challenges.

  6. Amy Vetter Says:

    your color choice is interesting, working with available fabric is always a challenge, the two children’s portraits are amazing, the minimal pattern shapes are all you need to recognize the face. beautiful!

  7. Nina-Marie Says:

    Gorgeous! It reminds me of a book I read last summer – the girl with the pearl earring! Off the Wall Link is open now – sorry – I was tired last night when I posted!


  8. Gorgeous, Meta. You must be one extremely fastidious and observant artist. Lovely work – would love to see this one in-person!

  9. a ferreira Says:

    It’s absolutely wonderful – and the brown is perfect!


  10. Meta, you have skill when it comes to doing portraits…this one is outstanding. Sue

  11. Mary Stori Says:

    Oh Meta….this is beyond fabulous….really, really excellent…thank you for sharing!

  12. Joke Says:

    Als je die ichte vlek weg zou laten wordt de linkerkant van haar gezicht wel erg donker. Ga er maar vanuit dat naast het raam dat je ziet nog een raam zit en dat het licht daarvan net over haar neus op haar jukbeen valt ;-).


  13. Great idea and portrait

  14. hannie Says:

    Het is een bijzonder goed portret geworden! De lichte verkleuring in het eigenlijke portret, is volgens mij gewoon door de schilder gedaan. Ook de vlekken denk ik. Een schilder heeft altijd eigen inbreng, wat het ook boeiend maakt. Net zoals nu bij jou weergave door het postereffect.
    Knap gedaan!


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

