two fabric portraits

These are two of my latest fabric portraits. I wanted to make them with as little pieces as possible, but still have a good likeness. I think I achieved this with the top portrait of the little boy, Matthijs. For the portrait of the baby, a little girl called Lieke, I needed a little bit more fabric, but it’s still quite minimal. I don’t often add lights in the eyes, but it was necessary for Lieke’s portrait or else the eyes would have been a little strange and not very lively. The portrait of Matthijs didn’t really need lights in the eyes, but as they’ll probably be hung together I wanted them to be similar.

Making these portraits takes quite a long time, but most of the work is choosing and editing the photos. Once I have a pattern that I like, it’s not so much work, except when it turns out I’ve picked the wrong fabrics. Sometimes it’s difficult to know beforehand whether a fabric combination will work or not.

I chose neutral colours for these portraits, as I think the people who they’re for will like these colours better than bright colours, I hope so, anyway!  They didn’t ask for a specific colour, just supplied a number of photos and left the rest up to me, which is a nice way of working! I’ve added a large matt, because I like it, but as it’s large it can, if necessary, be cut to a different size.

Dit zijn twee van mijn nieuwste stofjesportretten. Ik wilde ze maken met zo weinig mogelijk stukjes, maar ze moesten wel nog steeds goed lijken. Ik denk dat het met het bovenste portretje van het jongetje, Matthijs, is gelukt. Voor het portretje van de baby, Lieke, heb ik wat meer stof gebruikt, maar ik vind het nog steeds wel minimaal. Ik doe meestal geen lichtjes in de ogen, maar voor het portret van Lieke moest het wel,  omdat de ogen anders een beetje vreemd en starend zouden zijn. Het portret van Matthijs kon ook zonder lichtjes, maar omdat beide portretten waarschijnlijk bij elkaar worden gehangen, wilde ik dat ze overeen zouden komen.

Het kost altijd best veel tijd om dit soort portretjes te maken, maar daarvan gaat het meeste naar het uitzoeken en bewerken van de foto’s. Als ik eenmaal een patroon heb waarmee ik tevreden ben, dan is het niet meer zo veel werk. Behalve wanneer ik de verkeerde stofjes kies. Soms is het moeilijk precies in te schatten of een bepaalde stofjescombinatie zal werken.

Voor deze portretjes heb ik neutrale kleuren gekozen, omdat ik denk dat degenen voor wie ze zijn dit mooier vinden dan ‘kleurige’ kleuren. Ik hoop het in ieder geval wel! Ze hebben geen specifieke kleur gevraagd, alleen maar een aantal foto’s geleverd en de rest mocht ik zelf bepalen. Dat is eigenlijk wel een fijne manier van werken! Ik  heb een vrij groot passe-partout gebruikt, omdat ik dat mooi vind, maar omdat het groot is kan het eventueel bijgesneden worden.

matthijs blauw

matthijs rood

These are two portraits of the little boy Matthijs, that I made a couple of years ago, when he was still a baby. These have a binding and are attached to a canvas. I usually matt my portraits these days. I also don’t add my name to the portrait itself anymore, but write it on the matt.

Dit zijn twee portretjes van het jongetje Matthijs, die ik een paar jaar geleden heb gemaakt, toen hij nog een baby was. Deze hebben een biesje en zijn op een schildersdoek vastgemaakt. Tegenwoordig doe ik mijn portretjes meestal achter een passe-partoutje en ook zet ik mijn naam niet meer op het portretje zelf, maar op het passe-partout.

Explore posts in the same categories: fabric portrait

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “two fabric portraits”


  1. All of these are wonderful. And thank you for your description of how you work.

  2. emommers Says:

    Wat knap dat je met zo weinig stof zo’n perfecte gezichtsuitdrukking hebt gekregen. Werkelijk schitterend.

  3. meta Says:

    I’m sure it’ll be fine, but it’ll be a little trial and error at first!

  4. Hannie Says:

    Ze zijn erg goed gelaagd Meta! Vooral door de kleurkeuzes en dat je een deel van het gezicht hebt gekozen, als ik me zo goed uitdruk?

  5. rayela Says:

    These are some of my favorites of what you do. I really love them. Someday, I hope to try my hand at portraits and see what a mess I come up with! :)


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

